Welcome to the Order of the Knights of Our Lady's Official Web Blog!

Friday, July 25, 2008

Seven Degrees of Humility


The Knight is humble, magnanimous and loyal. (Knightly Code of Honour)

Seven Degrees of Humility:

1) To acknowledge oneself contemptible;
2) To grieve on account of this;
3) To confess or admit we are so;
4) To convince our neighbor of this, that is to wish them to believe it;
5) To bear patiently that this be said of us;
6) To suffer oneself to be treated with contempt
7) To love being thus treated

- taken from St Anselm (De Simil. ci, seqq.) and St Thomas Aquinas (Humility: Secunda Secundae Partis, Q. 161)

No comments: